Let Me Catch My Breath

Let Me Catch My Breath

Hello. It has been awhile since I have entered the blogging realm & I am most certainly happy to be back. Many things have changed since my last post. From my high school graduation to my summer escapades to my next steps- these past couple of months have been a whirlwind of change & refreshment. In a nutshell, I have much to share and I look forward to unpacking it over time through this blog!
But, today I want to talk about the sweet rest, revelation & revival God has placed on my heart recently. I have a feeling this post will be short & sweet, but when God gives me the desire to write I can’t help myself…

  

Breathe.

Experiencing God’s presence is like taking a long, satisfyingly deep breath of fresh air. As a citizen of Earth, I am used to physically breathing to stay alive. But as a citizen of Heaven, I often forget how spiritually breathing is just as (if not more!) important in keeping me truly alive.

Honestly, the only moments I oxygenate my faith are when I’m at church, smallgroup or during my rare (and often infrequent) quiet times with God. Other than that, I get so busy with life that I forget to take time to breathe Him in & start to feel like I am drowning instead. I begin to focus on the world to save me instead of the One who already has saved me.

Still, every time I begin to let the waves of the world knock me over, God is patiently waiting for me to come up for air. He gives me new breath through reading His Word, being encouraged by others or even just listening to worship music in the car. It’s surreal how much spending time with Him can fill me up after I’ve been running after all the wrong things (or, sometimes, all of the right things). 

I desire to find my natural rhythm with Him & to begin involuntairily breathing in His life-giving oxygen. God doesn’t want us to live life constantly pursuing & chasing “things”, always out of breath. Instead, He wants us to live in His supernatural rest & offers refreshment for every moment. 

I’m so thankful that I have a God who gives me fresh air & fills me up so I can be sent out.

“True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction.”

‭‭Psalm‬ ‭23:1-3‬ ‭MSG‬‬

2 thoughts on “Let Me Catch My Breath

    1. Wow! Thank you so much for your sweet encouragement!!! It totally confirms my writing & what He has put on my heart. 🙂 Breathing Him in is so vital…something I have to remind myself of often! Thanks again for the follow & words of encouragement, sister! Blessings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

